What Are the Army Ranks?

The Army ranks are the different levels of authority and responsibility within the Army. Officers and enlisted personnel are both given ranks, which are determined by their training, experience, and performance.

Checkout this video:

The Army Ranks

There are a lot of different army ranks. The army ranks are: general, lieutenant general, major general, brigadier general, colonel, lieutenant colonel, major, captain, first lieutenant, second lieutenant, and chief warrant officer.

Enlisted Ranks

The Army has a unique ranking system among the branches of the military. Unlike the other branches, which use a pay-grade system, the Army uses a “letter” system. The Army ranks are:

-Private (PVT)
-Private First Class (PFC)
-Specialist (SPC)
-Corporal (CPL)
-Sergeant (SGT)
-Staff Sergeant (SSG)
-Sergeant First Class (SFC)
-Master Sergeant (MSG)
-First Sergeant (1SG)
-Sergeant Major (SGM)
-Command Sergeant Major (CSM)
-Sergeant Major of the Army (SMA)

Warrant Officers

Warrant officers make up about 2 percent of the Army. They are technical and tactical experts who specialize in a particular area, such as aviation, engineering or field artillery.

The chief warrant officer ranks are W-2 to W-5. To become a CWO, you must first serve at least eight years as a warrant officer.

The warrant officer ranks are:
-W-2: Chief warrant officer 2
-W-3: Chief warrant officer 3
-W-4: Chief warrant office 4
-W-5: Chief warrant officer 5

Commissioned Officers

In the United States Army, Commissioned Officers are the highest ranking. They are responsible for leading and managing Soldiers.

There are nine ranks of Commissioned Officers in the Army:
-General (O-10)
-Lieutenant General (O-9)
-Major General (O-8)
-Brigadier General (O-7)
-Colonel (O-6)
-Lieutenant Colonel (O-5)
-Major (O-4)
-Captain (O-3)
First Lieutenant (O-2).

The Army Ranks Insignia

There are a total of 13 Army ranks. The ranks are separated into three categories: enlisted, warrant officer, and officer. Enlisted Army ranks are the lowest and include Private, Private First Class, and Specialist. Warrant Officer Army ranks are in the middle and include Chief Warrant Officer 2, Chief Warrant Officer 3, and Chief Warrant Officer 4. Officer Army ranks are the highest and include Second Lieutenant, First Lieutenant, Captain, Major, and Lieutenant Colonel.

Enlisted Ranks

The enlisted ranks in the Army are as follows, from lowest to highest:
-Private (PVT)
-Private Second Class (PV2)
-Specialist (SPC)
-Corporal (CPL)
-Sergeant (SGT)
-Staff Sergeant (SSG)
-Sergeant First Class (SFC)
-Master Sergeant (MSG)
First Sergeant (1SG)
Sergeant Major (SGM)
Command Sergeant Major (CSM)
Sergeant Major of the Army (SMA).

Warrant Officers

Warrant Officers in the U.S. Army are some of the most highly specialized and educated soldiers in the world. They hold critical leadership positions in virtually every field, including aviation, engineering, Information Technology (IT), logistics, and police work.

As technical experts, they are responsible for ensuring that the Army’s equipment and systems are properly maintained and operated. They also play a vital role in training and mentoring other soldiers.

Warrant Officers are typically promoted to their rank after serving for several years as Commissioned Officers. To be eligible for promotion, they must first complete a rigorous training program that covers all aspects of their chosen field.

There are four ranks of Warrant Officer:
-Warrant Officer 1 (WO1)
-Chief Warrant Officer 2 (CW2)
-Chief Warrant Officer 3 (CW3)
-Chief Warrant Officer 4 (CW4)
-Chief Warrant Officer 5 (CW5)

Commissioned Officers

Commissioned Officers are the highest level of Officer in the Army. They are responsible for leading and managing Army personnel and resources. There are four ranks of Commissioned Officer:

-Second Lieutenant (2LT)
-First Lieutenant (1LT)
-Captain (CPT)
-Major (MAJ)

Scroll to Top